Chapter History

The Mu Zeta Lambda Chapter was officially chartered on October 7, 1975. The two major catalysts of this movement were Brother Lynwood L. Bell, Sr. and Brother Phillip Walker.

Brother Lynwood L. Bell, Sr. of Lakeland, Florida, became a member of Alpha Phi Alpha in 1972 through Delta Beta Chapter at Bethune-Cookman University, Daytona Beach, FL. He is a 1974 graduate of Bethune-Cookman University where he earned the Bachelor of Arts degree in History/Political Science.As a member of Mu Zeta Lambda Chapter, Bell has served as Chapter President, Treasurer, Intake Coordinator, Historian, Director of Educational Activities, and Director of Men of Tomorrow Institute. Lynwood and his wife Linda are the parents of Lyndia and Lynwood, II. Brother Bell is the Assistant Manager of Leadership Development for State Farm Insurance where he has been employed for a number of years. The Bells are members of Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church in Lakeland.

Brother Phillip Walker of Lakeland, Florida, became a member of the Alpha Phi Alpha in the Fall 1972 through the Iota Chapter at Morris Brown College Atlanta, Ga. He holds a B.A. from Morris Brown College, and a Masters from Rollins College in Winter Park, FL. Brother Walker currently serves as director of membership in-take within the Mu Zeta Lambda Chapter. Walker is an Agency Principal/Owner of an Allstate Insurance Agency for a number of years. He currently serves as an elder at Christ Community Christian Center Church in Lakeland. Brother Walker’s first wife tragically passed away very early on of cancer and he was left alone to raise their two daughters, Janelle and Jaela as a single father for years. Prior to his first wife’s demise, they raised two other boys, Tony Williams and John Hall, who they met at church and made a part of the Walker Family. Phillip remarried to his present wife, Cappie, a local school teacher, and they have a son, Christian.

Along with Brothers Bell and Walker, we would like to recognize the following trailblazing charter members of Mu Zeta Lambda:

William Balloon, William O. Bunch, D.D.S., Frank Conoly (deceased by chartering date) Green P. Hankerson, Rudolph Holloman, Walter A. Lamar, Jr., Reginald Ligon, D.D.S. Charles McGriff, Hugh R. Mills, William Starks, David Stephens, James Thomas, III Joshua Williams, D.D.S., J. A. Wiltshire, M.D. (deceased).